‘Space Team’ by Barry J. Hutchison

‘Fun, But No Depth’

Score: 4/5

The book describes itself as ‘Perfect for fans of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy’ but it really doesn’t benefit from such comparisons. It reminds me of this other bit from DNA:

[...]WFT-II was the only British software company that could be mentioned in the same sentence as such major U.S. companies as Microsoft or Lotus. The sentence would probably run along the lines of “WayForward Technologies, unlike such major U.S. companies as Microsoft or Lotus . . .” but it was a start.

This isn’t H2G2, it’s not in the same league as H2G2, and if you go into it with those expectations you’re in for a very sharp disappointment.

Taken on its own, it’s funny enough. It doesn’t have the depth or re-readability of H2G2, but it’s fun.

Tags: 4 Word Book Reviews
Created by on Logo15659OpinionatedGeek Ltd.Logo15659